# 2015

#### ELWOOD PEMBLETON MEMORIAL AWARD MOST IMPROVED PLAYER



#### 1921 - 2007

Elwood was the co-founder of our club and in 2000 inducted into the Ontario Horseshoe Hall of Fame, in 2003 received the City of Brampton Citizen Award for 25 years of service. He was the driving force behind the development of our club, and serve as President for two terms and served in all other capacities, in 2002 he was appointed Club Advisor & Goodwill Ambassador Died suddenly on November 14, 2007 after knee replacement surgery. A memorial gardens was built in 2008 near the horseshoe pits, and the path leading through the park was named the Elwood "He will be missed, but never forgotten." Pembleton Way.



Accepting his plaque at the Awards/Banquet on November 7<sup>th</sup>

Gary Branning 2015 % 19.447 2014 % 13.913 DIFFERENCE 5.534%

Gary joined our club in 2014 and started off as a spare in the "D" Division. Played in the "C" Division in 2015

Gary was our official photographer at the banquet and when Ken asked Gary to put the camera down and accept his award, the expression on his face tells how shocked he was when his name was announced. Sportsmanship, Friendly Competition describes Gary



Presenting the award on the right, 2014 Recipient Paul Sanchez

Started in 1999 by President Ken Condie to Honour Elwood Pembleton

Past Recipients: 1998 Dominic Pileggi 2002 Glen Rideout 2003 Archie Dash 2004 Dan Peckham & Jacob Stewart 2006 Jack Saverv 2007 Tom Slanev 2011 Glen Rideout 2012 Ed Joyce

**1999 Lloyd Harvey** 2000 Jacob Stewart 2008 John Quackenbush 2009 Evan LeBlanc 2010 Glen Rideout 2013 Jason Sweeney 2014 Paul Sanchez

2001 Claude Malette 2005 Tom Slanev 2015 Gary Branning



## 2015 <sup>Elwood</sup> Pembleton Memorial Award <sup>Most</sup> Improved Player

Page 1

	2014	2015	Difference		2014	2015	Difference
Gary Branning	13.913	19.45	5.534	Dan Peckham	22.281	23.10	0.818
Barry Turnbull	25.665	31.19	5.525	Ron Michaelinsky	20.090	20.75	0.659
Bob Spafford	9.786	14.73	5.326	Jeff Vause	17.289	17.90	0.612
, Dion Decker	17.500	22.28	4.780	Jim Lisk	5.246	5.81	0.562
Frank Scarpino	21.011	25.46	4.446	John Dykstra	26.024	26.56	0.540
Ray Vander Kooy	6.931	11.02	4.092	Ken Griffith	13.197	13.40	0.205
Ken Postill	31.341	35.18	3.840	Bob Racher	14.516	14.97	0.116
Dave Corcoran	12.663	16.18	3.518	Don Crane	6.583	6.67	0.088
Bob Cox	8.484	11.80	3.319	Tom Burley	14.663	14.73	0.065
Barry Durrant	26.139	29.25	3.112	Dave Weir	6.191	6.94	0.051
Harry Collins	27.057	30.08	3.020	Tom Daigle	38.128	38.14	0.016
Paul Sanchez	49.110	52.05	2.943	Steve Grant	0.000	0.00	0.000
Carl Colbram	14.300	17.16	2.859	Jim Donald	13.410	13.32	-0.087
Bruno DeNicola	28.811	31.65	2.839	Roger Daigle	28.533	28.40	-0.131
Brett Paveling	7.090	9.83	2.735	Dave Bean	20.851	20.70	-0.154
Kevin Brown	14.659	17.00	2.345	Ron Gilmar	1.459	1.26	-0.203
Steve Laki	30.608	32.86	2.247	Brian Knee	8.924	8.40	-0.523
Tim Henry	9.097	11.28	2.182	Rick Skinner	16.948	16.40	-0.550
Ken Condie	19.444	21.57	2.126	Mike Ryde	22.530	21.97	-0.558
Peter Moulton	9.117	11.29	2.069	Frank Richards	5.839	5.17	-0.667
Paul Crowe	22.823	24.66	1.832	Earl Vanderhart	15.929	15.23	-0.695
Doug Ireland	14.640	16.45	1.810	Wally Brown	13.735	12.91	-0.828
Peter Busch	14.539	16.32	1.776	Chris Nielsen	10.137	8.93	-1.208
Rob Duval	19.421	21.18	1.757	Ed Paveling	11.785	10.52	-1.262
Dan Nadon	7.383	9.12	1.740	Evan LeBlanc	34.504	33.23	-1.270
Robert Richard	22.784	24.44	1.656	Rick Adams	16.956	15.54	-1.293
James Orton	16.414	18.04	1.627	Ed Sikkema	41.129	39.79	-1.343
Randy Licastro	32.039	33.52	1.478	John McMullin	16.081	14.61	-1.473
lan Talsma	24.453	25.91	1.457	Len Smith	14.400	12.80	-1.597
John Aucoin	8.363	9.76	1.395	John Beedham	30.435	28.74	-1.691
Gord Trotter	7.267	8.62	1.356	Bill Soulliere	12.994	11.03	-1.969
Erv Harvey	25.911	27.16	1.253	Gary Johnson	22.055	19.69	-2.368
Brian Michie	7.278	8.82	1.204	Paul Geofreda	6.970	4.59	-2.376
Daniel Lussier	4.841	5.97	1.126	Rick Solnik	40.123	37.48	-2.647
Gary Cureatz	18.504	19.05	0.991	Jason Sweeney	24.691	22.01	-2.681
Stephen Nott	6.042	7.00	0.962	Seamus McAtamney	21.221	18.33	-2.892

#### BY - LAW <u>16 Awards and Prize Money</u>

(e) To be eligible for the individual Awards (Barton & Pembleton) and any future individual award the winner must attend 75 % of the nights of regular season play. A night consists of a minimum of 4 games, anything less is not considered as attendance for awards. This requirement may be altered or reviewed by the Executive/Committee each year.



## 2015 <sup>Elwood</sup> Pembleton Memorial Award <sup>Most</sup> Improved Player

Page 2

	2014	2015	Difference		2014	2015	Difference
Don Oliver	30.104	26.94	-3.167	Neil Moore	34.249	29.96	-4.285
Bob Booth	25.461	22.08	-3.386	John Quackenbush	26.762	21.77	-4.993
Brian Ripley	21.897	18.28	-3.619	Charles Curry	40.546	34.74	-5.804
Chris Gorman	42.002	38.20	-3.801	Adrian Swinkels	17.964	11.67	-6.290
Cecil Churchill	10.000	5.90	-3.869	Dave Van Tassel	22.747	16.29	-6.457
Ed Joyce	23.966	19.82	-4.151	Jeff Simpson	21.209	13.77	-7.435

#### Ineligible must play miminum of 75% of the regular season (15 nights)

Jim Anderson	6.735	7.627	0.892	Cam Leonard	6.000	0.952	-5.048
Lionel Balez	2.461	4.494	2.033	Cliff Mark	16.276	12.548	-3.935
Terry Barrett	0.000	5.699	5.598	Duane McPhail	23.029	22.775	-0.254
Wayne Crowe	23.002	22.248	-0.754	Hans Poick	14.879	12.879	-2.000
Brian Garell	9.740	8.476	-1.264	Shawn Power	9.115	10.667	1.552
John Hadley	14.644	13.055	-1.589	Bob Sproats	7.151	10.949	3.798
Craighton Kennedy	3.300	0.952	1.895	Ron White	9.759	10.091	0.332

### First Full Year Pitching at the 30 ft or 35ft Distance

Ron Exelby	21.108	29.13	8.018	Clarence Lussier	14.493	15.44	1.105
John Flikkema	15.767	18.42	2.651	Ben Sikkema	17.500	27.98	10.481
Les Holloway	7.850	8.14	0.293	Tom Slaney	9.000	21.34	12.339
Wilson Hoyles	32.046	38.68	6.630	Jim Visser	20.500	24.91	4.410
John Kalverda	21.311	25.09	3.779	John Zardo	21.679	19.10	-2.575

#### BY - LAW 16 Awards and Prize Money

(e) To be eligible for the individual Awards (Barton & Pembleton) and any future individual award the winner must attend 75 % of the nights of regular season play. A night consists of a minimum of 4 games, anything less is not considered as attendance for awards. This requirement may be altered or reviewed by the Executive/Committee each year.



Runner up this year Barry Turnbull

2014 - 25.665% 2015 - 31.19% Difference 5.525%

This was one of the closes races in years, maybe next year will be his time.

His club average over 10 seasons 29.4% 2015 POW 46.15% + 18.15%