2013

ELWOOD PEMBLETON MEMORIAL AWARD MOST IMPROVED PLAYER



1921 - 2007

Elwood was the co-founder of our club and in 2000 inducted into the Ontario Horseshoe Hall of Fame, in 2003 received the City of Brampton Citizen Award for 25 years of service. He was the driving force behind the development of our club, and serve as President for two terms and served in all other capacities, in 2002 he was appointed Club Advisor & Goodwill Ambassador Died suddenly on November 14, 2007 after knee replacement surgery. A memorial gardens was built in 2008 near the horseshoe pits, and the path leading through the park was named the Elwood Pembleton Way. "He will be missed, but never forgotten."



Accepting his plaque at the Awards/Banquet on November 2nd

Jason Sweeney

2013 25.84 %

DIFFERENCE 5.44 %

2012 20.40 %



Presenting the award on the right 2012 Recipient Ed Joyce

Jason joined our club in 2011 and stated he will be a member for life.

In 2011 he finished with 21.0%, the next year 20.4% and this year improved once again 25.84%. He plays in all of the tournaments, which has helped to improve his game. He demonstrates sportsmanship and encourage his competition.

Started in 1999 by President Ken Condie to Honour Elwood Pembleton

Past Recipients: 1998 Dominic Pileggi 2002 Glen Rideout 2003 Archie Dash 2004 Dan Peckham & Jacob Stewart 2006 Jack Savery 2007 Tom Slaney 2011 Glen Rideout 2012 Ed Joyce

1999 Lloyd Harvey 2000 Jacob Stewart 2008 John Quackenbush 2009 Evan LeBlanc 2010 Glen Rideout 2013 Jason Sweeney

2001 Claude Malette 2005 Tom Slaney



2013 Elwood Pembleton Memorial Award Most Improved Player

Page 1

	2012	2013	DIFF		2012	2013	DIFF
Jason Sweeney	20.4	25.84	5.44	Paul Geofreda	6.5	6.98	0.48
Frank Scarpino	18.4	23.58	5.18	Jim Visser	22.0	22.43	0.43
Neil Moore	33.3	37.40	4.10	Chris Gorman	43.7	44.03	0.33
Clarence Lussier	8.0	11.78	3.78	Brian Garell	9.6	9.90	0.30
Brian Ripley	18.3	22.02	3.72	Bob Booth	25.2	25.48	0.28
John Zardo	20.2	23.88	3.68	Robert Richard	24.6	24.85	0.25
John Beedham	29.1	32.74	3.64	Barry Turnbull	30.8	31.02	0.22
Bruno DeNicola	25.8	29.30	3.50	Don Crane	4.9	5.06	0.16
Steve Laki	27.2	30.69	3.49	Ed Sikkema	41.0	41.10	0.10
Paul Crowe	22.4	25.38	2.98	Rick Skinner	14.5	14.55	0.05
Rick Solnik	33.4	36.36	2.96	Jim Lisk	6.2	6.23	0.03
Rick DeMaeyer	11.8	14.74	2.94	Tom Daigle	29.6	29.52	-0.08
John Dykstra	21.1	23.98	2.88	Duane McPhail	24.1	23.96	-0.14
John Aucoin	6.1	8.98	2.88	John Quackenbush	21.0	20.73	-0.27
Jeff Simpson	16.2	19.05	2.85	Seamus McAtamney	23.4	22.99	-0.41
Ken Condie	18.0	20.84	2.84	Robert Stewart	20.1	19.69	-0.41
Ed Joyce	15.9	18.47	2.57	Peter Busch	15.3	14.67	-0.63
Evan LeBlanc	33.8	36.34	2.54	John Flikkema	14.3	13.63	-0.67
Randy Geerts	6.4	8.93	2.53	Rick Adams	15.0	14.24	-0.76
JP Gauthier	18.3	20.83	2.53	Barry Durrant	31.5	30.62	-0.88
Wayne Crowe	18.0	20.46	2.46	Dana Rogers	9.7	8.73	-0.97
Roger Daigle	27.1	29.46	2.36	Ron Exelby	19.7	18.61	-1.09
Sean Beedham	14.4	16.51	2.11	Dan Taylor	18.6	17.47	-1.13
Erv Harvey	24.9	26.95	2.05	Wally Brown	14.3	13.15	-1.15
Lionel Balez	3.2	5.23	2.03	Randy Licastro	32.1	30.78	-1.32
Tim Dickson	37.4	39.43	2.03	Harry Collins	30.3	28.70	-1.60
Dwayne Mercer	25.9	27.79	1.89	Ben Sikkema	25.6	23.96	-1.64
Dave Sikkema	24.2	26.07	1.87	Mike Ryde	23.0	21.32	-1.68
Don Oliver	28.7	30.50	1.80	John Kalverda	17.8	15.94	-1.86
Charles Curry	29.5	31.26	1.76	Kevin Brown	16.4	14.51	-1.89
Ken Postill	28.7	30.32	1.62	Brian Knee	7.5	5.43	-2.07
Frank Richards	3.5	5.08	1.58	Dave Bean	23.6	21.44	-2.16
Jim Donald	13.2	14.76	1.56	Earl Vanderhart	24.1	21.93	-2.17
James Orton	13.1	14.63	1.53	Hans Poick	18.6	16.38	-2.22
Cliff Mark	13.5	15.02	1.52	Joe Blasy	29.1	26.80	-2.30
Dave Van Tassel	22.0	23.45	1.45	John McMullin	16.9	14.27	-2.63
Grant Whaley	6.6	7.75	1.15	Paul Sanchez	34.9	31.94	-2.96
Wilson Hoyles	29.5	30.60	1.10	Ron Michaelinsky	20.0	16.67	-3.33
Ken Griffith	9.0	9.92	0.92	Gary Johnson	32.1	28.51	-3.59
Bill Soulliere	11.9	12.66	0.76	Dan Peckham	27.1	22.17	-4.93
Paul Love	7.2	7.82	0.62	Dion Decker	23.8	18.44	-5.36
Ron White	6.2	6.75	0.55	Adrian Swinkels	17.7	12.30	-5.40
Daneil Lussier	4.7	5.19	0.49	Joe Travers	11.8	6.03	-5.77



2013 ^{Elwood} Pembleton Memorial Award ^{Most} Improved Player

Page 2

Ineligible for Most Improved Player due to attendance Must play 75% of the nights						ghts	
	2012	2013	DIFF		2012	2013	DIFF
Joe Arbuthnot	6.6	13.71	7.11	John Moulton	3.3	8.93	5.63
Tom Burley	14.2	9.97	-4.23	Chris Nielsen	8.1	9.05	0.95
Cecil Churchill	17.5	7.04	-10.46	Gary Pittman	18.3	15.38	-2.92
Doug Ireland	11.3	17.56	6.26	Tom Slaney	10.8	12.36	1.56
John Loder	26.3	26.63	0.33	Len Smith	11.4	13.27	1.87
John Lonsdale	7.8	6.89	-0.91	Gord Trotter	11.7	8.09	-3.61
Don McPhail	3.8	5.01	1 21	Bob Sproats	6.8	0.00	-6.80

Ineligible for Most Improved Player - New Member for 2013 - No record for 2012

	2012	2013		2012	2013
Albert Cannon	0.0	5.88	Peter Moulton	0.0	5.93
Andy Colbran	0.0	3.70	Dan Nadon	0.0	5.49
Carl Colbran	0.0	10.98	Brett Paveling	0.0	9.77
Dave Corcoran	0.0	16.53	Ed Paveling	0.0	12.96
Rob Duval	0.0	15.13	Steve Pietz	0.0	25.46
John Hadley	0.0	10.53	Shawn Power	0.0	10.66
Les Holloway	0.0	5.12	Bob Spafford	0.0	9.21
Tim Henry	0.0	9.27	lan Talsma	0.0	25.62
Craighton Kennedy	0.0	7.80	Doug Topping	0.0	13.30
Brandon Mark	0.0	6.60	Dave Weir	0.0	5.10

BY - LAW 16 Awards and Prize Money

(e) To be eligible for the individual Awards (Barton & Pembleton) and any future individual award the winner must attend 75 % of the nights of regular season play. A night consists of a minimum of 4 games, anything less is not considered as attendance for awards. This requirement may be altered or reviewed by the Executive/Committee each year.



Runner up this year was Frank Scarpino
2012 18.40 % 2013 23.58% Difference of 5.18%

Missed out by only 0.26%